Vegetable Samosas

These classic Indian snacks are usually served at dinner parties at my house or whenever we’re craving them. This is my Mum’s yum recipe. She taught me how to make them this past week so I took some snaps of her preparing them to act as a visual aid for y’all. Hope it helps and you guys like! Handy thing about samosas is that you can prep and freeze them before time and fry them as and when you want. Also, they taste good hot or cold so they’re pretty awesome to take on picnics and such.  I remember Mama Sawhney used to make them when we used to go to Clearwater beach back when we were living in Florida.  Sun, sand and samosas…good times :)

What we need:

For Filling:
450gm boiled potatoes, roughly diced
1/2 tsp cumin seeds
1 red onion, finely diced
110gm frozen peas
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp chilli powder
1/2 tsp kasuri methi
1/2 tsp tandoori masala (optional)
pinch of citric acid (or a drizzle of lemon juice)

For Pastry:
120 ml water
225gm flour
pinch salt
55gm plain flour (for rolling)

For Paste:
25gm plain flour
90 ml water

600ml cooking oil for frying

How we do:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Vegetable Samosas

  1. Karolina says:

    I have never made my own samosas and I will have to try sooner or later, but rather sooner ;) because my Mum is comming from Poland next week and I want to cook Indian meal for her, as she never tried it before.

    • Hey nice to see a fellow Northener blogging about food :). Yeah samosas are good stuff. Home made tastes infintely better than store bough too. Good luck with it-let me know how it goes for you!

  2. Savannah says:

    Thank you for posting. I have tried making samosa’s before with no luck. Hoping to try again soon. What did you add to the flour dough mixture? It is not on the ingredient list. Also, why lightly cook the dough first? Is it supposed to help the dough stay together for hot filling, or for another reason?

  3. Looks great and yummy! Cant wait to try this refreshing and healthy snack for kids. I’m sure they will love it! Thanks for sharing :)

Leave a Reply

