Roasted Afghani Cream Chicken

We’ve had guests round this week from India and in true Mamma Sawhney style, preparations began a couple days before hand and a plethora of dishes were made. I was made in charge of preparing the chicken dish so I decided to go for Afghani Chicken. I’ve only ever ate this dish in North India, once in Jaipur and more recently this past year, I ate  it in this small lil Punjabi cafe called Sandoz in Karol Bagh, Delhi.  It was amazing!  Regardless, I did a little research on it when I got back and I came up with this recipe. This is definitely one of those recipes that should be saved for special occasions. Result was succulent, creamy, rich chicken-major emphasis on the rich. But in the best way. Recipe shown below serves 12. You can either divide by how many servings you want it to yield or use http://www.easysurf.cc/recipe.htm.

Serves 12:
3 baby chickens, pre portioned and skinned
6 tbsp heavy cream
6 garlic cloves
3″ ginger
1 1/2 lemons
4 tsp kasturi methi (fenugreek leaves)
6 tbsp white pepper
3 tsp black pepper
3 tsp citric acid
9 tsp salt
2  tsp garam masala
1 tsp cardamom powder
3 tbsp roasted cashew nuts
2 tbsp almond
3 tbsp olive oil
2 handfuls coriander, chopped

  • To make the marinade, add all of the ingredients listed excluding the chicken) into a food processor. Grind until a coarse paste has formed.
  • In a bowl add the chicken and mix in the paste. Mix well.
  • Marinade for at least 4 hours (overnight is preferable).
  • Preheat oven 170 C/ approx 340 F. (I used a convection oven).
  • Place the marinaded chicken into an oven proof dish that has a lid.
  • Add the chicken to it and secure its lid.
  • Cook for 30 minutes. Remove the lid and carefully turn over the chicken. Let the other side cook for 30 minutes.
  • BALLE BALLE! You are good to go. Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Coriander, Dinner, Easy, Indian, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Roasted Afghani Cream Chicken

  1. Hi there buddy! Seeing that I’ve put in a bit of time inside the past hour or so scanning through your articles, I thought I would drop a brief note in your guestbook to say good day. I am often stunned at the high quality of writing that I can discover online by hitting the “I’m Feeling Lucky” button on Google! Well that is just about all I have to say! Thanks again and also great to ‘meet’ you 🙂

  2. Pingback: Afghani Cream Chicken « cynthiaghose

Leave a Reply

